Online Databases for Animal Alternatives
Agricola (AGRICulture OnLine Access)
Produced by the National Agricultural Library, U.S. Department of Agriculture.
Coverage is from 1970 to the present. Materials covered include journals,
extension publications, newsletters, books, theses, patents, technical
reports, and Congressional documents. Subject coverage includes agriculture
in its broadest sense, alternatives to animal testing, animal behavior,
animal welfare, laboratory animal medicine, veterinary medicine, wildlife
and zoology.
Agricola is available from the library homepage (http://www.lib.msu.edu).
Select Electronic Resources and then click on A to get to the page to connect
to AGRICOLA. The database is also available at http://www.nal.usda.gov/ag98.
BA (Biological Abstracts) on CD
A comprehensive biological database with over 12 million citations. Years
covered are 1980 to present. A variety of formats are included:
books, journals, meeting abstracts, institutional and government reports,
and research communications. Subject coverage is all the life sciences
including agriculture, behavior, toxicology, physiology, pharmacology,
and veterinary sciences.
BA on CD is available from the library homepage (http://www.lib.msu.edu).
Select Electronic Resources and then click on B to get to the page to connect
to BA on CD.
CAB Abstracts
CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. Coverage years
are 1972 to present. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology,
crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and
remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure,
recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development,
veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books,
annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned
regularly for inclusion in the database.
CAB Abstracts is available from the library homepage (http://www.lib.msu.edu).
Select Electronic Resources and then click on C to get to the page to connect
to CAB Abstracts.
MEDLINE
MEDLINE is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Coverage
is 1966 to present. Comprehensive coverage is done of journals in
human medicine, animal-based and in vitro biomedical research, and veterinary
medicine. No other types of material are covered. One
unique aspect of MEDLINE is a very good hierarchical controlled vocabulary
that facilitates searching.
MEDLINE is is available from the library homepage (http://www.lib.msu.edu).
Select Electronic Resources and then click on M to get to the page to connect
to MEDLINE. MEDLINE is also available at http://ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed.
TOXLINE
TOXLINE is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Coverage
is pre-1981 to present. The various subfiles have different periods
of coverage. Subject areas in biochemical, physiological, and toxicological
effects of drugs and other chemicals. Related records are taken from MEDLINE
and 18 other secondary sources.
TOXLINE is is available from the library homepage (http://www.lib.msu.edu).
Select Electronic Resources and then click on T to get to the page to connect
to TOXLINE. TOXLINE is also available at http://igm.nlm.nih.gov/.
BACK
Page Editor: Leslie M. Behm, MSLS, MPH
Veterinary Medical Center Library
Michigan State University
Libraries
URL: http://www.lib.msu.edu/behm/ular/databases.htm
Updated: September 30, 1998