MAIN LIBRARY
VETERINARY MEDICINE RESOURCES
DATABASES
AGRICOLA - (1970- ) Worldwide coverage of agriculture literature from the National Agriculture Library and other institutions, the database includes information on agricultural economics, animal industries, food and human nutrition, forestry, plant science, animal science and veterinary medicine. It indexes a number of important veterinary medicine journals, including "American Journal of Veterinary Research", "Current topics in Veterinary Medicine and Animal Science", "JAVMA", and "Veterinary Clinical Pathology."
Biological Abstracts - (1980- ) Is an excellent interdisciplinary, international database. It indexes biological, life sciences, biochemistry, pharmacology, toxicology, microbiology and medical peer-reviewed journal literature. It also includes citations for monographs, reports, conference papers, patents and other resources.
CAB Abstracts - (1972- ) CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural developement, veterinary medicine and more. CAB indexes a number of Veterinary Medicine journals including "Veterinary Clinics of North America", "Journal of Veterinary Medical Science", "American Journal of Veterinary Research."
iKnowledgenow.com - (1997- ) iknowledgenow is a veterinary medicine database of full-text journal and conference proceedings articles. Coverage is from 1997 to present and includes Journal of the American Animal Hospital Association and Proceedings of the American College of Veterinary Surgeons.
LEXIS-NEXIS - Another interdisciplinary database that is international in scope. The LEXIS service contains major archives of federal and state case law, state and federal regulations and public records from U.S. states. The NEXIS service is a leading news and business information service which contains more than 7,100 sources, of which 3,700 provide their entire publications online. It has good coverage of general healthcare news and journal articles relating to Veterinary Medicine.
MEDLINE - (1966- ) Medline is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. Although it focuses mainly on human medicine, it does contain information on animal testing, research, rights, regulation, diagnosis and treatment.
PubMed - (1966- ) PubMed is a government sponsored database that provides web access to bibliographic information, which is drawn primarily from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, HealthSTAR, as well as publisher-supplied citations.
Stat!Ref - Full-text medical and drug monographs in electronic form for healthcare professionals. This database contains the most recent books on pharmacology, toxicology, and diagnosis and treatment among others. As with "MEDLINE" its focus is human medicine, but many of the books (especially the pharmacology texts) can be used for Veterinary Medicine. This database also contains basic texts as the "Merck Manual" and "Steadman's Medical Dictionary."
BOOKS
Closed Reference:
2003 AVMA Directory - SF 611 .A53 2005
Open Reference:
Dogs - The Ultimate dictionary of over 1,000 dog breeds - SF 422 .M66 2002
Encyclopedia of Animal Science - SF 61 .E18 2005
Encyclopedia of Aviculture - SF 461 .M334 1983
The Encyclopedia of the Horse - SF 285 .E345 1994
Kirk's Current Veterinary Therapy XIII - small animal practice - SF 745 .C8 ed.13
Mason's World Dictionary of Livestock Breeds, Types and Varieties, 5th ed. - SF 105 .M34 2002
Prevention & Control of Wildlife Damage v.1 & 2 - SF 84 .4 .P74 1994
Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary - SF 609 .B566 1999
Veterinary Medicine: a textbook of the Diseases of Cattle, Sheep, Pigs, Goats & Horses - SF 745 .B65 1994
Veterinary Pharmaceutical and Biologicals (The Veteirnarian's PDR) ed. 12 - SF 917 .C56 2001/2002
General Information
Veterinary Medical Center Library Hours
College of Veterinary Medicine Home Page
Diagnostic Center for Population & Animal Health
Can NOT borrow Veterinary Medicine Books from the VMC Library via Mel Cat
VHS copies of Animal Planet's "Vet School Confidential" episodes are available in the VMC Library
Electronic Resources
HealthWeb - Excellent site for patient/client information. The interface provides organized access to evaluated health-related, Internet accessible resources.
Merck Veterinary Manual
- This database is the most comprehensive electronic reference for animal care
information.
MSU Veterinary Medicine Indexes/Databases
MSU Veterinary Medicine Electronic Journals
MSU Veterinary Medicine Text & Links
ScienceDirect - (1995- ) Provides access to full text of over 600 journals to which MSU Libraries have subscriptions, from 1995 to present. Also includes access to abstracts of articles in non-subscribed journals and pre-1995 issues.
Veterinary Medicine Journals indexed in ProQuest
AKC Gazette; Dog World; DVM; Horse & Rider; Practical Horseman; Veterinary Economics; Veterinary Medicine
Animal Welfare Information Resources (for laboratory researchers who work with live animals)
Animal Welfare Act Information
Hot Topics in Veterinary Medicine
Alternative and Holistic Medicine
Animal Assisted Therapy
Animal Loss and Grief
Bioterrorism - Report from the U.S. General Accounting Office - Bioterrorism: A Threat to Agriculture and the Food supply.(http://www.gao.gov/htext/d04259t.html)
Human-Animal Bond
Zoonoses -(diseases humans can contract from animals) - west nile virus; foot and mouth disease; toxoplasmosis
Interesting Websites
Animal Planet - http://animal.discovery.com
Human-animal Bond Initiative - College of Nursing (MSU) - http://nursing.msu.edu/habi
MEDLINEplus - http://medlineplus.gov - Consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health
MEL Internet - http://mel.org/index.jsp
USDA - http://www.usda.gov - United States Department of Agriculture