Library Resources for
Veterinary Medicine
Michigan State University
This guide should be used as a resource to help find material in the MSU Libraries. It is not intended to be comprehensive. Please visit the Veterinary Medicine Center Library or the Main Library Reference Desk for further assistance.
Magic is the online catalog for all of the MSU libraries holdings and is used to locate books and journals owned by MSU.
IMPORTANT! - You can only use Magic to find the titles of books and journals the library owns, not the titles of articles. To find articles you must use a database or an electronic journal. You can search Magic by Author, Keyword, Subject and Title.
Use to find journal articles.
Electronic databases - have journal citations, some contain abstracted citations or full-text.
Electronic journals - In most cases the actual individual issue is in electronic format. Many electronic journals are full-text and do not have search capability. Click on the issue and the table of contents appears.
Relevant Veterinary Databases
AGRICOLA - (1970- ) Worldwide coverage of agriculture literature from the National Agriculture Library and other institutions, the database includes information on agricultural economics, animal industries, food and human nutrition, forestry, plant science, animal science and veterinary medicine. It indexes a number of important veterinary medicine journals, including "American Journal of Veterinary Research", "Current topics in Veterinary Medicine and Animal Science", "JAVMA", and "Veterinary Clinical Pathology".
Biological Abstracts - (1980- ) Is an excellent interdiscplinary, international database. It indexes biological, life sciences, biochemistry, pharmacology, toxicology, microbiology and medical peer-reviewed journal literature. It also includes citations for monographs, reports, conference papers, patents and other resources.
CAB Abstracts - (1972- ) CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and more. CAB indexes a number of Veterinary Medicine journals, including "Veterinary Clinics of North America", "Journal of Veterinary Medical Science", "American Journal of Veterinary Research".
MEDLINE - (1966- ) Medline is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. Although it focuses mainly on human medicine, it does contain information on animal testing, research, rights, regulation, diagnosis and treatment.
PubMed - PubMed is a government sponsored database that provides web access to bibliographic information, which is drawn primarily from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, HealthSTAR, as well as Publisher-Supplied citations.
Toxline - (1981- ) Toxline is a comprehensive bibliographic database from the National Library of Medicine. It provides information on the pharmacological, biochemical, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals on humans and animals.
LEXIS-NEXIS - Another interdiscplinary database that is international in scope. The LEXIS service contains major archives of federal and state case law, state and federal regulations and public records from major U.S. states. The NEXIS service is a leading news and business information service which contains more than 7,100 sources, of which 3,700 provide their entire publications online. It has good coverage of general healthcare news and journal articles relating to Veterinary Medicine.
STAT!REF Medical Library - Full-text medical and drug monographs in electronic form for healthcare professionals. This database contains the most recent books on pharmacology, toxicology, and diagnosis and treatment among others. As with "Medline" its focus is human medicine, but many of the books (especially the pharmacology texts) can be used for Veterinary Medicine. This database also contains basic texts as the "Merck Manual" and "Stedman's Medical Dictionary".
Veterinary Medicine Reference Books
Books on specific topics may be located by using the MSU Libraries' online catalog (MAGIC).
(The following books can be located in the Vet Med and Main Libraries)
Merck Veterinary Manual, SF 748 .M47 1998
Veterinary Medicine: A Textbook of the Diseases of Cattle, Sheep, Pigs, Goats, and Horses, SF 745 .B65 2000
Textbook of Veterinary Internal Medicine: Diseases of the Dog and Cat, SF 911 .E88 2000
Textbook of Small Animal Surgery, SF 911 .T49 1993
Current Veterinary Therapy 4: Food Animals, SF 745 .C784 1999
Equine Practice 3, SF 951 .E692 1998
Veterinary Medical Terminology, SF 610 .C48 1997
Kirk's Current Veterinary Therapy ...: small animal practice, SF 745 .C8
Veterinary pharmacology and therapeutics, SF 915 .J67 2001
Veterinary Drug Handbook, SF 917 .P58 1999
Essential Veterinary Medicine Journals
JAVMA - Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association, SF 601 .A5, Vet Med Library (last 10 years only) and Main Library (1915-)
American Journal of Veterinary Research, SF 601 .A43, Vet Med (last 10 years only) and Main (1940- )
Veterinary Clinics of North America, (call numbers vary), Vet Med and Main
- Equine Practice
- Exotic animal practice
- Food animal practice
- Small animal practice
AAHA - Journal of the American Animal Hospital Association, SF 604.5 .A5, Vet Med (last 10 years only) and Main (1968- )
Compendium on Continuing Education for the Practicing Veterinarian, SF 775 .C6, Vet Med (last 10 years only) and Main (1979 - )
Equine Veterinary Journal, SF955 .E67, Vet Med (last 10 years only) and Main (1968-1990)
Exotic DVM, SF 997.5 .E95 E95, Vet Med (2000- )
In Practice, SF 601 .I58, Vet Med (last 10 years only) and Main (1980 - )
Journal of Equine Veterinary Science, SF 951 .J62, Vet Med (last 10 years only) and Main (1981- )
Journal of Small Animal Practice, SF 601 .J6, Vet Med (last 10 years only) and Main (1960- )
Veterinary Surgery, SF 601 .A7, Vet Med (last 10 years only) and Main (1978-1990)
Veterinary Technician, SF 775 .C58, Vet Med (last 10 years only) and Main (1984-1990)
Veterinary Medicine Links
Veterinary Medical Center Library
College of Veterinary Medicine Home Page
Library Information
Service Request - to request library services
ILL (Interlibrary loan) - to request material not owned by MSU libraries, may take 10 days to 2 weeks or longer.
View your own record/Renew material
Page created & edited by: Sheila Bryant, Reference/Health Sciences Librarian
Updated: December 13, 2001
E-mail: bryants@msu.edu