|
|
Starting
Your Research in the MSU Libraries
|
| Looking
to do research on a particular topic? This guide will help you to begin
your research by covering the following topics: |
|
|
|
|
|
Finding
Background Information: Reference Books
|
|
Reference books (both
in print and electronic versions) include dictionaries, encyclopedias,
almanacs, directories, manuals, handbooks, and much more. Reference books
can help you to:
- Explore a topic:
find out what has been said about this subject, trends, issues, etc.
- Identify unfamiliar
terms or people in your reading
- Find references
to other books and articles on the subject
- Find specific
keywords to use in online searches
A Few Suggested
Reference Books & Resources:
- Oxford
Reference Online
Contains more than 100 online dictionaries and encyclopedias, covering
all subject areas and displicines including art, literature, science,
medicine, business, law, and history. Also contains many bilingual dictionaries
and quotation books.
- The Encyclopedia
of American Political History
Provides a descriptive time line of major political events in American
history, along with background information on various aspects of American
politics such as voting, political parties, elections, major political
figures, interest groups, significant laws, and much more.
Location: Main Library Reference (1 East), E183.E48 2001
- Encyclopedia
of Government and Politics
Covers major political topics and themes throughout the world including
political theory, ideologies, systems, forces, influences, and processes
(campaigns, elections, voting behavior, parties, interest groups).
Location: Main
Library Reference (1 East), E183.E48 2001
- Congressional
Quarterly's Guide to U.S. Elections
Provides background information and statistics on U.S. elections including
presidential and congressional election voting data, and covers topics
on the evolution of American elections and development of political
parties.
Location: Main Library Reference (1 East), JK1967.C66 2001
- Political
Parties & Elections in the United States: An Encyclopedia
Includes key names, dates, and figures relative to political parties
and elections. Also includes tthe history and operations of political
parties in the U.S.
Location: Main Library Reference (1
East), JK2261.P633 1991
- Special
Interest Group Profiles for Students
A guide to historical data and information on 150 special interest groups,
divided into three broad categories: economic interest groups, social-action
interest groups, and single-issue interest groups. It also provides
details on the missions, functions, issues, histories, budgets, structures,
influences, and successes and failures for each group.
Location: Main Library Reference (1 East), JK1118.S688 1999
|
|
|
| Finding
Periodical Articles: Indexes |
|
How do I search
for periodical articles on my research topic?
To search for periodical
articles on a particular topic, you must search a periodical index. A
periodical index allows you to search the contents of magazines, journals
and newspapers. For more details and step-by-step instructions, see Finding
Periodical Articles in the MSU Libraries.
A Few Suggested Periodical
Indexes:
- ProQuest
Provides access to the citations of articles (and in many cases, the
full text of articles) in a wide range of subject areas. In addition
to general interest publications, ProQuest Research Library covers titles
in the following areas: Arts, Business, Children, Education, General
Interest, Health, Humanities, International, Law, Military, Multicultural,
Psychology, Sciences, Social Sciences, and Women's Interests.
- Expanded
Academic ASAP (1980-present)
Provides access to the citations of articles (and in many cases, the
full text of articles) in a wide variety of disciplines including the
social sciences, humanities, science and technology, national news,
and general interest.
- WilsonSelectPlus
(1994-present)
Provides access to the full text of journal and magazine articles in
a variety of disciplines, including art, education, health, business,
general sciences, and many areas of general interest.
- America
History and Life (1964-present)
America History and Life provides access to the citations of articles
(and in some cases, the full text of articles), book reviews, and dissertations
in American and Canadian history.
- PAIS
International (1972-present)
One of the most important bibliographic databases for political science.
It contains citations and abstracts of articles, books, conference proceedings,
government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about
public affairs. Focus is primarily on the United States; however, it
does provide world coverage of politics, public policy, public administration,
international relations, and current affairs.
- Social
Sciences Abstracts (1983-present)
Provides
citations of articles in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography,
law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and
international relations.
- International
Political Science Abstracts (1989-present)
The most important of all the political science indexes, produced by
the International Political Science Association. Indexes and abstracts
articles from periodicals published throughout the world.
- Worldwide
Political Science Abstracts (1975-present)
Provides access to the citations and abstracts of international literature
in political science, international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
- CQ
Researcher
Provides full-text reports on current, hot, and controversial topics.
Includes balanced introductions to these issues, cross references to
past reports, and excellent tables and graphs.
- LexisNexis
Academic
An excellent source for newspaper articles, newswires, business information,
state and federal court cases, regulations, law reviews, and government
information.
- New
York Times (via LexisNexis Academic)
Provides full-text articles appearing in the Final New York City Edition
of the New York Times from June 1, 1980-present.
Need help choosing
keywords and searching indexes? Try: Database/Index
FAQs and Searching Tips
|
|
|
| Finding
Books: MAGIC - MSU Libraries Online Catalog |
|
What is MAGIC?
MAGIC
is the MSU Libraries' online catalog. It is a searchable listing of materials
owned and located in the MSU Libraries, including: books, journals, government
documents, microforms, videos/DVDs/CDs, etc. For search examples and more
detailed help, review the Self-Guided
Introduction to MAGIC.
When should I
use MAGIC?
- To find whether
we own a specific book, including its location and call number
- To browse for
books on a topic
- To find whether
we subscribe to a specific magazine, journal, or newspaper
NOTE: You cannot
use MAGIC to find individual articles within a magazine-you must use a
periodical index for that.
|
|
|
| Other
Places to Look: Research Guides and Web Sites |
|
|
|
|
| Examples
for Citing Resources for a Bibliography |
|
Don't forget to
cite!
|
|
|
| Finding
Assistance in the MSU Libraries |
|
Reference, reference,
reference
we really are here to help! Believe it or not, librarians
really do want to be asked questions at the Reference Desk. We are here
to help you as much as we can in your research, so please do not hesitate
to contact us in person at the Main
Library Reference Desk located on 1-East, by E-mail,
or through our "Ask
a Librarian" chat service (chat with a librarian through
real-time software, Monday-Friday from Noon-4 p.m. when classes are in
session).
Return
to Top
|
Library
Home | Electronic Resources | Services and Request Forms
| MAGIC | Need Help?
Hours | About the Libraries
|
|
Prepared by:
Kara J. Gust
Assistant Instruction Librarian
Main Library, E119A
(517) 432-6123 x185
gustk@msu.edu
Last updated:
3/24/2005
|