-
Find It Online: The Complete Guide to Online Research. (Main
Library Reference, TK5105.875.I57 S35 1999)
A valuable reference guide to finding information on the World Wide Web.
Provides guidelines on search strategies and techniques, and includes
information on general and specialized search tools for finding the news,
government sources, public records, business resources, and more.
-
Fulltext Sources Online. (Main Library Reference, Z699.2
.F8)
Lists "publications available in (full-text) from the major commercial
online vendors...includes not only traditional periodicals and newspapers,
but also newswires, newsletters and transcripts of TV and radio programs"
(xiii). Publications are indexed alphabetically by title.
-
Gale Directory of Databases. (Main Library Reference Desk,
QA76.9.D32 D5754)
Provides "detailed descriptions of databases available online throughout
the world" (vol. I, ix). Includes a subject index with more than 1200
subject headings. Information is presented in a 2 volume set. Volume I
covers online databases, while volume II covers "CD-ROM, Diskette, Magnetic
Tape, Handheld and Batch Access Database Products."
-
Gale Guide to Internet Databases. (Main Library Reference
Desk, TK5105.875 .I57 G35).
"Identifies and describes 5,002 domestic and international databases" (x).
Includes listings of WWW subject directories, a glossary of Internet terms,
an extensive subject index, and more.
-
Washington Online: How to Access the Federal Government on the
Internet.. (Main Library Reference, TK5105.875.I57 W37)
Provides "...detailed descriptions of more than 900 federal government
Internet sites, mailing lists, and other resources that you can access for
free...It explains how to reach each site, describes what each one offers,
provides searching tips for selected sites, and offers advice on where to
start a search for federal government information on the Internet" (xxiii).
-
Wired Journalist: Newsroom Guide to the Internet. (Main
Library Reference, PN4784.E5 W57 1999)
Includes information about websites that "are crucial for every journalist
to know" (IV). Also provides training exercise and tips for efficient and
effective online searching.