Documents in the MSU Libraries Related to the Study of the Holocaust
Shari Buxbaum, Jewish Studies Bibliographer
Terri Miller, Slavic and East European Bibliographer
Introduction
Encyclopedias & Atlases
Bibliographies
Anthologies
Document Collections
Visual Records: Art
Visual Records: Photography
Perpetrator Documents
Bystander Documents
Survivor Documents
Government & Press Documents
Internet Resources
Introduction
Locations, Using MAGIC
The location of materials are indicated as part of the call numbers,
which are provided. The
abbreviations for the locations are as follows:
ARR: Reserves, Main Library, Second Floor, West Wing
FINE ARTS: Main Library, Fourth Floor, West Wing
GOV DOCS: Government Documents, Main Library, Basement,
West Wing
MAIN: Main Library stacks area. See floor guides for
exact locations.
REMOTE: Items stored at this remote location may be
requested from http://www.lib.msu.edu/magicplus/Services/remote.html
SPC: Special Collections, Main Library, Basement, East
Wing
REFERENCE: Main Library Reference First Floor,
East Wing
VOICE: Robert G. Vincent Voice Library, Main Library,
Fourth Floor, West Wing
CONSULTING REFERENCE: Main Library, Basement, West
Wing
Shari Buxbaum, Jewish Studies Bibliographer, can be reached at the Business
Library, 432-4180, or buxbaums@msu.edu.
Terri Miller, Slavic, East European and Central Asian Bibliographer, can be
reached at 432-3978 or ticklet@msu.edu.
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust. Schmuel Spector, Robert Rozette, editors. New York : Facts on File, 2000. REFERENCE D804.25 .E53 2000.
The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life before and during the Holocaust. Editor
in chief, Shmuel Spector; consulting editor, Geoffrey Wigoder; foreword by Elie
Wiesel. Jerusalem: Yad Vashem; New York: New York University Press, 2001. 3
Vols.
REFERENCE DS135.E8 E45 2001.
The Holocaust encyclopedia. Walter Laqueur, editor ; Judith Tydor Baumel, associate editor. New Haven : Yale University Press, c2001. REFERENCE D804.25 .H66 2001.
The Encyclopedia of the Holocaust. New York: Macmillan, c1990. REFERENCE D804.3 f.E53 1990
Fischel, Jack. Historical dictionary of the Holocaust. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1999 REFERENCE D804.25 .F57 1999.
Gilbert, Martin. Atlas of the Holocaust 1st U.S. ed. New York: William Morrow and Company, c1993. MAP G1797.21 .E29 G58 1993
U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum Historical Atlas of the Holocaust. New York: MacMillan Pub., 1996. MAP G1797.21 .E29 H5 1996
Cargas, Harry J. The Holocaust: An Annotated Bibliography. Chicago: American Library Association, 1985. MAIN Z6374 .H6 C37
Edelheit, Abraham J. Bibliography on Holocaust Literature and Supplements. Boulder: Westview Press, 1986, 1990, 1993. CONSULTING REFERENCE D810 .J4 E3
The Holocaust: An Annotated Bibliography and Resource Guide. [Hoboken, NJ]: Ktav Pub. House for the National Jewish Resource Center, New York, c1985. CONSULTING REFERENCE Z6374 .H65 1985
Rosen, Philip and Nina Apfelbaum. Bearing witness: a resource guide to literature, poetry, art, music, and videos by Holocaust victims and survivors. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2002 MAIN D804.3 .R67 2002
Tutorow, Norman E. War Crimes, War Criminals, and War Crimes Trials: An Annotated Bibliography and Source Book. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986. MAIN JX5419.5 .W3 T8 1986
Abzug, Robert H. America views the Holocaust, 1933-1945: a brief documentary history. Boston : Bedford/St. Martin's, 1999.. MAIN D804.19 .A29 1999
Arad, Yitzhak. Documents on the Holocaust. New York: Ktav Pub. House in Assoc. with Yad Vashem [and the] Anti Defamation League, 1981, [i.e. 1982]. MAIN D810 .J4 D63
Archives of the Holocaust : an international collection of selected documents.
Henry Friedlander and Sybil Milton, general editors. New York : Garland, 1989-<1995
> MAIN D804.3 .A7 1989. v. 1. Bildarchiv Preussischer Kulterbesitz, Berlin:
pt. 1. 1933-1939; pt. 2. 1939-1945 (photographs and documents) v. 22. Zentral
Stelleder Landesjustizverwaltungen, Ludwigsburg. (documents in German)
Documents on the Holocaust: selected sources on the destruction of the Jews
of Germany and Austria, Poland, and the Soviet Union. Edited by Yitzhak
Arad, Yisrael Gutmann, and Abraham Margaliot ; translations by Lea Ben Dor ;
introduction to the Bison Books edition by Steven T. Katz. Lincoln: University
of Nebraska Press ; Jerusalem : Yad Vashem, 1999. MAIN D810.J4 D63 1999. (Revision
of 1981 edition above)
Arad, Yitzhak Anthology on Armed Jewish Resistance. Brooklyn, NY: Jewish Combatants Publishers House, 1984-. MAIN D810 .J4 A26 1984
Braham, Randolph L. The Destruction of Hungarian Jewry, A Documentary Account. New York: Pro Arte for the World Federation of Hungarian Jews, 1963. MAIN D804 .G4 B74 2 volumes
Dobroszycki, Lucjan and Jeffrey S. Gurock, eds. Holocaust in the Soviet Union: Studies & Sources on the Destruction of the Jews in the Nazi-Occupied Territories of the USSR, 1941-1945. Armonk, NY: M.E. Sharpe, 1993. MAIN DS135 .R92 H64 1993
Donat, Alexander, ed. The Death Camp Treblinka: A Documentary. New York: Holocaust Library: [distributed by Schocken Books], c1979. MAIN D805 .P7 D37
Eliach, Yaffa Liberators, Eyewitness Accounts of the Liberation of Concentration Camps. Brooklyn, NY: Center for Holocaust Studies, Documentation & Research, 1981-. MAIN D805 f.G3 L474 1981
The fragility of goodness: why Bulgaria's Jews survived the Holocaust:
a collection of texts. Commentary by Tzvetan Todorov ; translated by Arthur
Denner. Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press, c2001. MAIN DS135.B8 F7313
2001.
Hilberg, Raul. Documents of Destruction; Germany and Jewry, 1933-1945.
Chicago: Quadrangle Books,1971. MAIN D810 .J4 H53
International Military Tribunal. Trial of the major war criminals before
the International Military Tribunal, Nuremberg, 14 November 1945-1 October 1946.
42 volumes.
v. 1. Official documents.
v. 2-22. Proceedings.
v. 23- 24. Indexes
v. 25-42. Documents and other material in evidence.
Kogen, Eugen, Hermann Longbein, and Adalbert Ruckerl, eds. Nazi Mass Murder:
A Documentary History of the Use of Poison Gas. New Haven: Yale University
Press, 1993. MAIN D804 .G4 N2913 1993
Laska, Vera, ed. Women In the Resistance and In the Holocaust: The Voices of Eyewitnesses. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1983. MAIN D810 .J4 W58 1983
Mendelsohn, John. The Holocaust: Selected Documents in Eighteen Volumes.
New York: Garland Publishing, 1982. OVERSIZED BOOKS BASEMENT D810 .J4 f.H655
1982 Volumes 1-18:
1.Legalizing the Holocaust: Early Phase, 1933-1939
2.Legalizing the Holocaust: The Later Phase, 1939-1943
3.The Crystal Night Pogrom
4. Propaganda and Aryanization, 1938-1944
5.Jewish Emigration From 1933 to the Evian Conference of 1938
6.Jewish Emigration, 1938-1940 Rublee negotiations and the Intergovernmental
Committee
7.Jewish Emigration: the S.S. St. Louis Affair and Other Cases
8. Deportation of the Jews to the east : Stettin, 1940, to Hungary,
1944
9.Medical Experiments on Jewish Inmates of Concentration Camps
10.The Einsatzgruppen or Murder Commandos
11.The Wannsee Protocol and a 1944 Report on Auschwitz by the Office
of Strategic Services
12.The "Final Solution" In the Extermination Camps and the Aftermath
13.The Judicial System and the Jews In Nazi Germany
14.Relief and Rescue of Jews From Nazi Oppression, 1943-45
15.Relief In Hungary and the Failure of the Joel Brand Mission
16.Rescue to Switzerland: The Mussy and Saly Mayer Affairs
17. Punishing the Perpetrators of the Holocaust: the Brandt, Pohl,
and Ohlendorf cases
18.Punishing the Perpetrators of the Holocaust: The Ohlendorf and Von
Weizsaecker Cases
Mendes-Flohr, Paul R. and Jehuda Reinharz, eds. The Jew in the Modern World: A Documentary History. New York: Oxford University Press, 1980. MAIN DS102 .J43
Mosse, George L. Nazi Culture: Intellectual, Cultural, and Social Life in the Third Reich. New York: Grosset & Dunlap [1966]. MAIN DD256.5 .M58
Rittner, Carol and John K. Roth, eds. Different Voices: Women and the Holocaust. New York, NY: Paragon House, 1993. MAIN D804.3 .D53 1993
Rozauskas, E., ed. Documents Accuse. [compiled and commented by B. Baranauskas and K. Ruk,]. Vilnius: Gintaras, 1970. MAIN DK511 .L27 D6
Sax, Benjamin C. and Dieter Krentz, eds. Inside Hitler's Germany: A Documentary History of Life in the Third Reich. Lexington, Mass.: D.C. Heath, c1992. MAIN DD25.5 .s255 1992
Tragedy of Hungarian Jewry: Essays, Documents, Depositions. New York:
Columbia University Press, 1986. MAIN DS135 .H9 T7 1986
Anthology on armed Jewish resistance, 1939-1945. Compiled and edited by Isaac Kowalski ; introduction written by Yitzhak Arad. Brooklyn, N.Y.: Jewish Combatants Publishers House, 1984. MAIN D810.J4 A26 1984.
Dawidowicz, Lucy S. A Holocaust Reader. New York: Behrman House, [1976] MAIN D810 .J4 H65
Friedlander, Albert H. Out of the Whirlwind: A Reader of Holocaust Literature. New York: Schocken Books, 1976, c1968. MAIN DS135 .E83 F72 1976
Glatstein, Jacob. Anthology of Holocaust Literature. New York: Antheneum, 1975. MAIN D810 .J4 G57 1975
Langer, Lawrence L. Art from the Ashes: A Holocaust Anthology. New York:
Oxford University Press, 1995. MAIN D804.3 .A78 1995
VISUAL RECORDS
Art
Blatter, Janet Art of the Holocaust. New York: Rutledge Press, 1981. FINE ARTS N7417.6 f.B59
Costanza, Mary S. The Living Witness: Art In the Concentration Camps and Ghettos. New York: Free Press; London: Collier Macmillan, 1982. FINE ARTS N7417.6 .C67 1982
Czarnecki, Joseph P. Last Traces: The Lost Art of Auschwitz. New York:Atheneum, 1989. FINE ARTS ND2812 .P62 O834 1989
I Never Saw Another Butterfly: Children's Drawings and Poems From Terezin Concentration Camp, 1942-1944. New York: Schocken Books, 1993. FINE ARTS N352 .P713 1993
Spiritual Resistance: Art From Concentration Camps, 1940-1945: A Selection of Drawings and Paintings. FINE ARTS folio N7417.6 .S58 1981
Young, James Edward. At memory's edge : after-images of the holocaust in contemporary art and architecture. New Haven : Yale University Press, 2000. FINE ARTS NX650.H57 Y68 2000.
From the Collection of Kibbutz Lohamei Haghetaot, Israel. New York: Union of American Hebrew Congregations, 1981. FINE ARTS N7417.6 f.S58 1981
The Art of Jewish Children, Germany, 1936-1941: Innocence and Persecution. New York: Philosophical Library, c1989. FINE ARTS N352.2 f.G3 A7813 1989 c.1
Dobroszycki, Lucjan Image Before My Eyes: A Photographic History of Jewish Life in Poland, 1864-1939. New York: Schocken Books, 1977. Remote Storage DS135 f.P6 D62
Grossman, Mendel With a Camera In the Ghetto. New York: Schocken Books, 1977, 1972. MAIN DS135 .P62 L643513 1977
Hartmann, Erich In the Camps. New York: W.W. Norton, 1995. MAIN D805 .A2 H35
1995
The last album : eyes from the ashes of Auschwitz-Birkenau. Edited by Ann Weiss
; introduction by James E. Young; foreword by Leon Wieseltier. New York: W.W.
Norton, c2001. MAIN DS135.E89 L37 2001.
Swiebocka, Teresa, ed. Auschwitz: A History In Photographs. Bloomington: Published
for the Auschwitz-Birkenau State Museum, Indiana University Press, 1993. FINE
ARTS D805 .P7 f.A8813 1993
Davies, Raymond Arthur. Odyssey Through Hell. New York: L.B. Fischer, 1946. MAIN D810 .J4 D28
Engelmann, Bernt. In Hitler's Germany: Daily Life Under the Nazis, 1933-1945. New York: Pantheon Books, 1985. MAIN DD256.5 .E5313 1985.
Engelmann, Bernt. Germany Without Jews. Toronto; New York: Bantam Books, 1984. MAIN DS135 .G3 E54 1984
Friedlander, Saul. Pius XII and the Third Reich: A Documentation. New York: Knopf, 1966. MAIN BX1378 .F713
Kennan, George. Frost From Prague After Munich. Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press, 1968. MAIN DB215.3 .K4
Lukas, Richard C., ed. Out of the Inferno: Poles Remember the Holocaust. Lexington: University Press of Kentucky, 1989. MAIN D802 .P6 O88 1989
Maschmann, Melita Account Rendered. London, New York: Abelard-Schuman [1965, c1964]. MAIN DD253.48 .M313
Owings, Alison Frauen: German Women Recall the Third Reich. New Brunswick, N.J.: Rutgers University Press, c1993. MAIN D811.5 .O885 1993
Pulitzer, Joseph Report to the American People. [St. Louis, 1945]. SPC DD253 .P84
Steinhoff, Johannes Voices from the Third Reich: An Oral History. Washington,
D.C.: Regnery Gateway; New York, N.Y.: c1989. MAIN DD256.5 .S764 1989
The Einsatzgruppen reports : selections from the dispatches of the Nazi Death Squads' campaign against the Jews July 1941-January 1943. Edited by Yitzhak Arad, Shmuel Krakowski, Shmuel Spector; Translated by Stella Schossberger. New York, N.Y. : Holocaust Library, c1989. RESERVE D804.3 .E46 1989.
Goebbels, Joseph. [A Documentary of Assorted Speeches by Goebbels During the Nazi Regime] [sound recording]. VOICE M702 bd.2- M703
Goebbels, Joseph. Final Entries, 1945: The Diaries of Joseph Goebbels. New York: Putnam, c1978 MAIN DD247 .G6 A2713 1978
Goebbels, Joseph.The Goebbels Diaries, The Last Days. London: Secker & Warburg, c1978. MAIN DD247 .G6 A2713
Goebbels, Joseph. The Goebbels Diaries, 1939-1941. London: H. Hamilton, 1982. MAIN DD247 .G6 A2913 1982
Goebbels, Joseph. The Goebbels Diaries, 1942-1943. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, 1948. MAIN DD247 .G6 A2413
Headland, Ronald. Messages of Murder: A Study of the Reports of the Einsatzgruppen of the Security Police and the Security Service, 1941-1943. Rutherford [N.J.]: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press; London: Assoc. University Presses, c1992. MAIN DS135 .R92 H4 1992
Hess, Rudolf. Death Dealer: The Memoirs of the SS Kommandant at Auschwitz. Buffalo, N.Y.: Prometheus Books, 1992. MAIN D805 .G3 H5513 1992
Hess, Rudolf. Commandant of Auschwitz; Autobiography. Cleveland: World Pub. Co. <1960, c1959>. MAIN D805.G3 H553 1960
Hitler, Adolf. Mein Kampf. London: Hurst and Blackett: Los Angeles: Angriff Press, 1981, c1942. ARR DD247 .H5 A313 1981
Hitler, Adolf. The Speeches of Adolf Hitler, April 1922-August 1939. New York: H. Fertig, 1969. MAIN DD247 .H5 A73 1969
KL Auschwitz Seen by the SS. Autobiography of Rudolf Hess, Reminiscences of Pery Broad, Diary of Johann Paul Kremer. New York: H. Fertig, 1984, c1972. MAIN D805 .P7 K56 1984
Klee, Ernst, ed. "The Good Old Days": The Holocaust As Seen by Its Perpetrators and Bystanders. New York: Free Press, c1991. RESERVE D804.3 .K5413 1991
Levai, Jeno, ed. Eichmann in Hungary: Documents. [New York]: H. Fertig, 1987. MAIN DS135 .H9 E42 1987
Mitscherlich, Alexander. Doctors of Infamy, The Story of the Nazi Medical Crimes. New York: H. Schuman, c1949. MAIN D804 .G4 M553
Moczarski, Kazimierz. Conversations with an Executioner. Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice-Hall, c1981. MAIN DD247 .S84 M6213
Rauschning, Herman. The Voice of Destruction. New York: Putnam, c1940. MAIN
DD247 .H5 R3
Sereny, Gitta. Into That Darkness; From Mercy Killing to Mass Murder. New York: McGraw-Hill, [1974]. MAIN D805 .G3 S456
Speer, Albert. Inside the Third Reich: Memoirs. [New York]: Macmillan, [1970].
MAIN
DD247.S65 A313
Stroop, Jurgen. The Stroop Report: The Jewish Quarter of Warsaw is No More! 1st. American ed. New York: Pantheon Books, c1979. MAIN D765.2 .W3 S78613
Beck, Gad. An underground life: the memoirs of a gay Jew in Nazi Berlin; written
with Frank Heibert; translated from the German by Allison Brown. Madison: The
University of Wisconsin Press, c1999. MAIN DS135.G5 B3313 1999.
Bettelheim, Bruno. Surviving, and Other Essays. New York: Knopf, 1979. MAIN
BF698.2 .B47 1979
Bettelheim, Bruno. The Informed Heart: Autonomy in a Mass Age. Glencoe, Ill.:
Free
Press [1960]. MAIN HM271 .B44
Bitter prerequisites : a faculty for survival from Nazi terror. Wm. Laird Kleine-Ahlbrandt.
West Lafayette, IN: Purdue University Press, c2001. MAIN DS135.G3315 B58 2001.
(interviews)
Bor, Josef. The Terezin Requiem. New York: Knopf, 1963. MAIN D805 .C9 B613 1963
Czerniakow, Adam. The Warsaw Diary of Adam Czerniakow: Prelude to Doom. New York: Stein and Day, 1979. MAIN DS135 .P62 W2613
Delbo, Charlotte. Auschwitz and After. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1995.
MAIN D805 .P7 D41613 1995
Delbo, Charlotte. None of Us Will Return. New York: Grove Press [1968]. MAIN D805 .G3 D4413
Donat, Alexander. The Holocaust Kingdom, A Memoir. London: Secker & Warburg [c1965]. MAIN D810 .J4 D68
Feiner, Hertha. Before deportation : letters from a mother to her daughters,
January 1939-December 1942; edited and with an introduction by Karl Heinz Jahnke;
translated from the German by Margot Bettauer Dembo. Evanston,IL: Northwestern
University Press, 1999. MAIN DS135.G5 F39413 1999.
Feldman, Alfred, One step ahead : a Jewish fugitive in Hitler's Europe. Carbondale
: Southern Illinois University Press, c2001. MAIN DS135.G5 F33 2001
Fenelon, Fania. The Musicians of Auschwitz. London: M. Joseph, 1977. MAIN ML429 .F436 A33 1977
Frank, Anne The Diary of Anne Frank: The Critical Edition. New York: Doubleday, 1989. MAIN D810 .J4 F715 1989
Frank, Anne The Diary of a Young Girl. New York: Modern Library [c1952]. MAIN D810 .J4 F715 1952b
Greenman, Leon. An Englishman in Auschwitz. London, Portland, Or. : Vallentine
Mitchell, 2001. MAIN DS135.E6 G73 2001.
Hahn, Issy. A life sentence of memories: Konin, Auschwitz, London. London; Portland,
OR : Vallentine Mitchell, 2001. MAIN DS135.P63 H34 2001.
Heger, Heinz The Men With the Pink Triangle. Boston, Mass.: Alyson Publications,
c1980. MAIN HQ75.7 .H4313
Hillesum, Etty Letters From Westerbork. New York: Pantheon Books, 1986. MAIN DS135 .N6 H54513 1986
Hillesum, Etty An Interrupted Life: The Diaries of Etty Hillesum, 1941-1943. New York: Pantheon Books, c1983. MAIN DS135 .N6 H54813 1983
Holocaust testimonies: European survivors and American liberators in New Jersey.
Edited by Joseph J. Preil. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, c2001.
MAIN D804.195 .H74 2001.
Isaacson, Judith Magyar Seed of Sarah: Memoirs of a Survivor. Urbana: University
of Illinois Press, c1990. MAIN DS135 .H92 K375 1990
Jacoby, Ingrid. My darling diary : a wartime journal, Vienna 1937-39, Falmouth
1939-44. Publisher Penzance, Cornwall : United Writers, c1998. MAIN DS135.A93
J33 1998 (Diary of Jewish girl transported to Britain in Kinderstransporte
Kaplan, Chaim Aron Chronique D'une Agonie, Journal Du Ghetto de Varsovie de....
Paris: Calmann-Levy, 1966. Remote Storage ; D765.2 .W3 K2714
Klein, Gerda Weissmann All But My Life. New York: Hill and Wang, 1995.
MAIN
DS135 .P6 K5634 1995
Kogon, Eugen. The Theory and Practice of Hell; The German Concentration Camps
and the
System Behind Them. New York: Octagon Books, 1973. MAIN DD256.5 .K613
1973
Korczak, Janusz. The Ghetto Years, 1939-1942. Ghetto Fighters' House: Hakibbutz Hameuchad Pub. House, [1980]. MAIN DS135 .P62 W277613
Korczak, Janusz. Ghetto Diary. New York: Holocaust Library, c1978. MAIN DS135 .P62 W272 1978
Krizkova, Marie Ruth. We are Children Just the Same: Vedem, the secret magazine by the boys of Terezin. Philadelphia: Jewish Publications Soc, 1994. MAIN D805.C9 J413 1995
Lengyel, Olga Five Chimneys: The Story of Auschwitz. New York: Howard Fertig, 1983, c1947. MAIN D805 .P7 L413 1983
Levi, Primo Moments of Reprieve. New York: Summit Books, c1986. MAIN PQ4872 .E8 Z513 1986
Levi, Primo The Drowned and the Saved. New York: Summit Books, c1988. MAIN D810 .J4 L45313 1988
Levi, Primo The Reawakening. New York: Collier Books, c1986. MAIN D811.5 .L44613 1986
Levi, Primo Survival in Auschwitz, The Nazi Assault on Humanity. New York: Collier Books, 1961. MAIN D804 .G4 L3713 1961
Levi, Primo The Truce; A Survivor's Journey Home From Auschwitz. London: Bodley Head [1965]. MAIN D811 .L41713
Lewin, Abraham A Cup of Tears: A Diary of the Warsaw Ghetto. Oxford; New York: Basil Blackwell, 1988. MAIN DS135 .P62 W314 1988
Lowinger, Maurice. Miracle in the ashes. Edited by Yaakov Lavon. Southfield,
MI: Targum Press, 1999. MAIN DS135.H93 L68 1999.
Muller, Filip Auschwitz Inferno: The Testimony of a Sonderkommando. London:
Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1979. MAIN D805 .P7 M833
Myendzizshetski, Feygele Peltel On Both Sides of the Wall; Memories From the Warsaw Ghetto. Lohame Ha-Getaot, Ghetto Fighters' House, 1973. MAIN D810 .J4 M4613 1973
Nelken, Halina. And yet, I am here! Translated by Halina Nelken with Alicia
Nitecki. Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press, c1999. MAIN DS135.P63 N4613
1999. (Diary and Memoir)
Pollatschek, Henriette.A thousand kisses: a grandmother's Holocaust letters.
Translated and edited by Renata Polt. Tuscaloosa, AL: University of Alabama
Press, c1999. EBOOK & MAIN DS135.C95 P65 1999.
Ringelblum, Emanuel. Notes from the Warsaw Ghetto; The Journal of Emmanuel....
New York: McGraw-Hill, [1958]. MAIN DS135 .P62 W333
Rosengarten, Israel J. Survival: the story of a sixteen-year-old Jewish boy;
translated from the Dutch. Syracuse N.Y.: Syracuse University Press, 1999. MAIN
DS135.B43 R6713 1999.
Roskies, David G., ed. Literature of Destruction: Jewish Responses to Catastrophe.
Philadelphia: Jewish Publication Society, 1988, 1989. MAIN DS102 .L54 1988
Rothchild, Sylvia, ed. Voices From the Holocaust. New York, N.Y.: New American Library, c1981. MAIN D810 .J4 V63
Rousset, David The Other Kingdom. New York: Fertig, 1982. MAIN D805
.G3
R6413 1982
Schwertfeger, Ruth, ed. The Women of Theresienstadt: Voices From a Concentration Camp. New York: St. Martins, 1989. MAIN D805 .C9 W66 1989
Seel, Pierre. I, Pierre Seel, deported homosexual: a memoir of Nazi terror;
Translated from the French by Joachim Neugroschel. Publisher New York : Basic
Books, c1995. MAIN HQ75.8.S44 A3 1995
Soros, Tivador. Masquerade: Dancing around Death in Nazi-occupied Hungary. Edited
and translated from the Esperanto by Humphrey Tonkin; forewords by Paul and
George Soros. New York : Arcade Pub., 2001. MAIN DS135.H93 S67713 2001.
Tec, Nechama. Dry Tears: The Story of a Lost Childhood. Westport, Conn.: Wildcat Pub. Co., c1982. MAIN D810 .J4 T42
The Wartime System of Labor Service In Hungary: Varieties of Experience.
New York: The Rosenthal Institute for Holocaust Studies, Graduate Center,
CUNY; Boulder: Social Science Monographs; New York: Dist. by Columbia University
Press, 1995. MAIN
DB955.8 .W36 1995
Trillion, Germaine. Ravensbrouck. Garden City, New York: Anchor Press, 1975. MAIN D805 .G3 T5413 1975
Wiesel, Elie. Night; 25th Anniversary ed. Toronto; New York: Bantam, 1982,
c1960. MAIN D811.5 .W4923 1982
Wyszogrod, Morris. A brush with death: an artist in the death camps. Albany:
State University of New York Press, 1999. EBOOK & MAIN DS135.P63 W946 1999.
The Meeting: an Auschwitz Survivor Confronts an SS Physician. Edited by Bernhard Frankfurter; translated from the German and annotated by Susan E. Cernyak-Spatz. Syracuse, N.Y.: Syracuse University Press, 2000. MAIN D805.5.A96 B4913 2000. (Interview)
Skakun, Michael. On burning ground: a son's memoir. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1999. MAIN DS135.B38 S58 1999. (Son's recollection of father's Holocaust memories)
Clendinnen, Inga. Reading the Holocaust. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1999. MAIN D804.348 .C54 1999.
Witness: voices from the Holocaust. Produced and directed by Joshua M. Greene
and Shiva Kumar; in association with the Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust
Testimonies, Yale University. New York: Jewish Media Fund, 1999. AUDIO/VISUAL
LIB, 4 WEST D810.J4 W555 1999 Videocassette
See Also: Jewish heritage video collection
GOVERNMENT AND PRESS DOCUMENTS
Biuletyn Glownej Komisji Badania Zbrodni Niemieckich w Polsce. German crimes
in Poland / Central Commission for Investigation of German Crimes in Poland.
1st American ed. New York : Howard Fertig, 1982. MAIN D804 .G4 B53 1982
Hackett, David A., ed. The Buchenwald Report Translated, Edited, and With an Introduction by David A. Hackett. Original report was produced by the Intelligence Team of the Psychological Warfare Division of the Supreme Headquarters of the Allied Forces. Boulder: Westview Press, 1995. MAIN D805 .G3 B774613 1995
Jackson, Robert H. Case Against the Nazi War Criminals. Opening Statement for the United States of America, by Robert H. Jackson, and other documents. New York: A.A. Knopf, 1946. MAIN D804 .G42 J3
Ryan, Allan K. Klaus Barbie and the United States Government: A Report to the Attorney General of the United States. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Justice, 1983. GOV DOCS J1.2:B23/2
Searching for Dr. Josef Mengele. Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1986. GOV DOCS Y4.J89/2:S.hrg. 99-331
Sher, Neal M. and Eli M. Rosenbaum, eds. In the Matter of Josef Mengele: A
Report to the Attorney General of the United States, Prepared by Office of Special
Investigation, Criminal Division. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Justice, Criminal
Division, c1992. MAIN DD247 .M46 I5 1992 v.1-2
Soviet Union. Narodnyoi Komissariat Po Inostrannym Delam The Molotov Paper on
Nazi Atrocities. New York: American Council on Soviet Relations, 1942. SPC D804
.G4 S69 1942
Soviet Documents on Nazi Atrocities: Illustrated by some 200 Original Photographs.
Soviet War News. London: Hutchinson, [194?]. MAIN D804 .G4 S6
Trials of War Criminals Before the Nuernberg Military Tribunals Under Control Council Law No. 10. Nuernberg, October 1946-April 1949. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1949-1953. 15 v. Commonly called the Green Series. GOV DOCS D102.8: 946-949
United States. Chief of Counsel for the Prosecution... Nazi Conspiracy
and Aggression.
Washington, D.C.: U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1946. MAIN D804 .G42 A4
United States. Chief of Counsel for the Prosecution... Nazi Conspiracy and
Aggression. Supplement A-B. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1947-48
suppl. MAIN D804.G42 A4
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
http://www.ushmm.org/
Exhibitions and other resources are mostly located under "History." Excellent
bibliographies can be found under "Research" and then "Library"
Cybrary of the Holocaust
http://www.remember.org/
Interviews, survivor memoirs, documents, images
Yad Vashem Homepage
http://www.yad-vashem.org.il/
An enormous resource, with over 200 documents, an extensive bibliography,
and many other resources. 'Lost Jewish Worlds' is an interesting section of
the history of 4 towns in Belarus and Lithuania and the fate of the jewish population
within them.
Bibliography originally compiled by Shari Buxbaum, May 1998. Updated by Terri Miller, March 2002.