MICHIGAN
STATE UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES
COLLECTION
DEVELOPMENT POLICY STATEMENT
LATIN AMERICAN AND CARIBBEAN STUDIES
BIBLIOGRAPHER AND LIBRARY
LIAISON: Mary Jo Zeter
DATE DRAFTED: March 17, 2000
BACKGROUND: The Latin American Bibliographer selects resources
from the various disciplines which treat their topics in the context of Latin
America or the Caribbean region. Latin
American and Caribbean studies programs and initiatives are interdisciplinary
and have strong involvement from faculty in nearly all the social science and
humanities disciplines. The Center for
Latin American and Caribbean Studies, a U.S. Department of Education designated
National Resource Center, is a key point of liaison between the Libraries and
its Latin America oriented clientele.
There are well over 100 MSU faculty members affiliated with the Center
for Latin American and Caribbean Studies, drawn from 10 MSU colleges and 23
different academic departments. The
1999 fall semester issue of the Center's newsletter, Ojeada, reported that in
the current academic year MSU was offering 194 courses dealing "wholly or
substantially with Latin America," and that the previous year had seen
7,488 students enrolled in these classes.
I. Purpose and Scope of
Collection:
MSU Libraries' Latin American and
Caribbean Studies collection supports the research and instructional needs of
faculty with Latin American studies interests, and provides resources for their
students at the undergraduate and graduate levels. Current faculty and graduate student research interests and
applied experience in Latin America and the Caribbean cross a broad spectrum of
disciplines and include business and trade, history, literature and the arts,
archaeology, anthropology, environmental studies, geography, political science
and sociology. This is reflected in the broad range of materials selected for
the collection, and the preponderance of social sciences and humanities
resources. Materials on topics in Latin American agriculture, health, and
natural history are acquired more selectively.
While the collection focuses
generally on social science and humanities disciplines, historically greater
strengths are seen in the social sciences.
English language resources to support all levels of instruction in Latin
American studies are a collecting priority.
In terms of geographic emphases, Mexico has been the Latin American
country of greatest interest to scholars at MSU. This is reflected in the strong holdings in materials from and
about Mexico. Brazil and Argentina have
followed in importance, as reflected in the numbers of volumes acquired from
those countries. There are notable
strengths in the holdings of Colombian, Venezuelan, Chilean and Uruguayan works
as well.
II. Factors Influencing
Collection Policy:
The most recent campus trends show
an increasing local interest in the Amazon region and in the Caribbean. This is evidenced primarily through the
research and teaching interests of new faculty hires and new courses. In the Amazon, changes in natural resource
and land use, settlement patterns, and social change are of particular
interest. Interest in the Caribbean
area, especially in history, society and cultural studies, is also on the rise. An historically strong campus interest in
Mexico has accelerated as well, particularly since the implementation of
NAFTA. Issues related to trade,
business and environment have come to the fore, as well as border area
concerns. African descent populations
throughout Latin America and the Caribbean also continue to be a focus of
strong local interest. Scholarship related to issues of ethnicity, gender, and
social change throughout the developing world is a major trend that demands an
appropriate increase in library collections support.
While most of the Latin American and
Caribbean studies collection is integrated into the Main Library's general
collection, valuable resources are found in numerous other special format or
discipline based collections. These include materials in the Business Library,
Government Documents, Fine Arts, Special Collections, Maps, and the Main or
Consulting Reference collections, which are generally purchased with funds
controlled by the Latin American Bibliographer on the basis of geographic
focus. In some instances purchase
requests are made of the managers of these collections, in particular for
important art or reference works.
The most significant group of
materials for Latin American studies that are treated in another collection
policy statement are the documents of international intergovernmental
organizations that deal with Latin America or the Caribbean area. The Government Documents unit has collecting
responsibilities for publications of the Organization of American States, the
United Nations and its related agencies, and the regional development banks, to
name but a few. The disciplinary
selector with whom collecting responsibility boundaries most often blur is the
Ethnic Studies Librarian. Purchase
decisions are made in consultation with the Ethnic Studies Librarian and with
other area or disciplinary selectors when questions of collecting
responsibilities arise. Similarly,
selection tools are shared or exchanged to enhance collection coverage.
III. Analysis of the Subject
Field:
Chronological guidelines: No restrictions.
Languages of resources
collected:
English language resources to support all levels of instruction in Latin
American studies are a collecting priority.
When available, translations of vernacular works into English are
acquired. Good coverage of current
books published in English is ensured through trade and university approval
plans with appropriate profiles.
Additional monographic resources in English are identified and acquired
through firm orders, particularly the publications of academic research centers
and institutes, and European presses.
Serial literature published in English is also prioritized.
Resources
in Spanish and Portuguese are collected to support advanced study and research
in all the disciplines of importance for Latin American studies, with the
exception of Brazilian Portuguese language and literature, which is collected
to support study through the advanced undergraduate level only. Resources in
the vernacular languages afford students and researchers an area perspective that
cannot be adequately ensured through solely English language publications. Also, much of the published primary sources
for research on Latin American subjects is in Spanish, or when pertaining to
Brazil, in Portuguese. Selection is
guided by the same standards of quality and appropriateness for a research
library collection that is applied to English language acquisitions. Significant scholarship in French pertaining
to the French-speaking Caribbean and to Guyane, is also collected. Some indigenous and Creole resources are
selected for language and linguistic studies.
A very small number of resources are collected in German and other
European languages.
Geographic guidelines: Resources are acquired about
all of Latin America and the Caribbean area.
Geographic emphases reflect local interests, as discussed in section I,
above.
Format guidelines: Most Latin American studies
resource purchases, both monographic and serial, are in print format. A small but increasing number of desirable
resources are electronic publications.
Caution is exercised however, as no digital format is considered
archival, and electronic resources published in Latin America have been
discovered to be incompatible with computer hardware considered to be the
industry standard only a few years later.
Web based subscription databases are very desirable for reasons of
accessibility and currency, but current funding levels have permitted access to
only one key subscription database for Latin American studies, HAPI
Online. Non-MSU dissertations and
theses are generally not collected.
Music on compact disk is acquired rather selectively, as are
videos. Researchers value primary
resource collections in micro format, but current funding levels permit little
in the way of such acquisitions. Faculty and student requests for specific
works in special formats are encouraged.
Date of publication: Current materials
emphasized, with limited retrospective selection. An exception is in the Spanish American literature collections,
where there is a need for on-going retrospective acquisition of important
primary works as well as some key secondary works. The need is strongest in prose literature of the last 10-15
years.
IV. Current
Levels of Collecting Intensity:
Appendix
A presents a list of major subject
areas in the Latin American studies collection, with current collection depth
indicators assigned. The indicators are
those of the WLN Conspectus, found on the web at:
http://www.wln.org/wlnprods/aca/indicators-cdid.htm
For the most part, the Latin American studies
collection falls into the collection depth Level 3 range, "Study or
Instructional Support Level."
Levels 3a, 3b, and 3c are subdivisions indicating increasing collection
depth. Level 3 collections support
study from the undergraduate to the Masters degree "as well as other
specialized inquiries." This may
be interpreted to mean preliminary dissertation level research. Collections at WLN Conspectus Level 4,
"Research Level," contain "the major published source materials
required for doctoral study and independent research" and include "a
very extensive collection of general and specialized periodicals,"
requirements currently met by relatively few libraries.
V. Collection
Management Issues:
Missing
monographs are generally replaced unless other copies or editions are held in
the MSU Libraries. Attempts will be
made to replace missing items judged to be of particular value or interest
locally, even if no longer in print.
Gifts of appropriate materials are accepted from individual donors, and
duplicate journal issues or serial reports offered by other institutions are
sometime available to fill gaps in serial holdings. Filling serial gaps, renewing, and canceling serial subscriptions
is part of an ongoing serials review process carried out by the Latin American
Bibliographer. Multiple copies and
identical or very similar editions are also reviewed for weeding as part of an
ongoing collection renewal project in the Main Library general stacks.
APPENDIX A
Agriculture
(ag economics, agrarian reform, policy) 3a
Anthropology 3b
Caribbean
region (incl. parts of Central Am. mainland) 3c
Mexico
(esp. Western and Southern) 3c
Art 3a
Mexico
and Caribbean (esp. painting and architecture) 3b
Business and trade 3b
Mexico 3c
Development 3b
Economics 3a
Ecology and environment 3c
Amazon
region 4
Mexico 4
Education 3a
Geography 3b
Amazon
region 4
Mexico 3c
History 3b
Brazil 3c
Mexico 4
Caribbean 4
Labor and industrial relations 3a
Language and literature
Latin
American Spanish,
(incl. Spanish-speaking Caribbean) 3c
Brazilian
Portuguese 3a
English-speaking
Caribbean, lit. 3c
French-speaking
Caribbean, lit. 3a
French
Caribbean Creole, language study 2b
Politics 3b
Southern
Cone, esp. Argentina, Chile, Uruguay 3c
Religion 3a
Sociology 3b
African
descent communities 4
Mexico,
esp. South, border areas & relating to NAFTA 3c
Urban and regional planning 3a
Mexico 3b
NOTE: Subdivisions levels a, b and c indicate increasing
collecting intensity.