Selected Resources for Latin American History


General History Dictionaries & Encyclopedias Bibliographies Indexes Chronologies Biographical Resources Research Guides

GENERAL HISTORY

The Cambridge History of Latin America. Edited by Leslie Bethell. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1984- 11 vols.
[F1410 .C1834 Main Stacks]

A history of the whole of Latin America, presented in authoritative essays by international scholars. Bibliographic essays accompany each chapter in each volume, and are brought together from earlier volumes in Vol. 11, "Bibliographic Essays," updated and revised.

DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean. Edited by Simon Collier, et al. 2nd ed. Cambridge [England]: Cambridge University Press, 1992.
[F1406 .C36 1992 Main Reference]

A useful single volume encyclopedia, profusely illustrated. Organized into six broad sections: Physical environment, Economy, Peoples, History, Politics and Society, and Culture.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. Edited by Barbara A. Tenenbaum. New York: C. Scribner’s Sons, c1996. 5 vols.
[F1406 .E53 1996 Main Reference]

Includes an appendix of biographies by category, and a general index.

Historical Dictionary of the Spanish Empire, 1402-1975. Edited by James S. Olson, et. al. New York: Greenwood Press, 1992.
[DP56 .H57 1992 Main Reference]

Focuses on the people, institutions, and colonies of the Spanish empire; not limited to the Americas.

Latin American Historical Dictionaries Series. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 197-

A country series, with titles in the form: Historical Dictionary of [Country]. Latest editions are in Main Reference, older editions circulate.

Race and Ethnic Relations in Latin America and the Caribbean: An Historical Dictionary and Bibliography. Edited by Robert M. Levine. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1980.
[F1419 .A1 L48 Main Stacks and Reference]

BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Current Bibliographies

Bibliography of Latin American and Caribbean Bibliographies. Madison, Wisc.: SALALM Secretariat, Memorial Library, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1986- Annual.
[Z1601 .A2 B4]

Handbook of Latin American Studies. Gainesville: University of Florida Press, 1935- . Annual.
[Z1601.H23 Main Reference, and on the Web: http://lcweb2.loc.gov/hlas/]

The most comprehensive annual bibliography in the field, the Handbook is an annotated bibliography of scholarly journal articles, monographs, chapters of books and conference proceedings. The print edition is issued annually, with volumes alternating between coverage in the social sciences and humanities, and provides annotated citations to books and journal articles. The Web version offers more timely access to current research activity, at a “preliminary editorial stage,” meaning citations may be incomplete, and frequently lack annotation. The print format, though not as current, offers the advantages of browsing by discipline, and includes bibliographic and “state of the research” essays preceding each discipline chapter.

Retrospective Bibliographies

A Bibliography of Latin American Bibliographies. Arthur E. Gropp. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1968. [Z1601.A2 J7 1968 Main Stacks]

A number of supplements were published, and are classed and shelved alongside the original, i.e., [Z1601.A2 J7 1987 Suppl. 4 Main Stacks] A final update, edited by Lionel Lorona, brought coverage up to 1989 [Z1601.A2 B41 1993].

The Complete Caribbeana, 1900-1975: A Bibliographic Guide to the Scholarly Literature. Lambros Comitas. Millwood, N.Y.: KTO Press, c1977. 4 vols. [Z1595 .C63 Main Stacks]

Especially valuable for non-Hispanic Caribbean research.

INDEXES

Current Indexes

HAPI, Hispanic American Periodical Index Online. Los Angeles: UCLA, Latin American Center Publications, 1997-
[Note: This resource is restricted to MSU IP ranges. See access information.]

Important source for articles in journals published in Latin America, but also indexes content of many major North American and European journals related to Latin America and the Caribbean. Coverage from 1970 to the present. Print volumes (1970-1998) available in Main Reference.

Historical Abstracts. Santa Barbara, Cal.: ABC-Clio, 1955-
[Note: This resource is restricted to MSU IP ranges. See access information.]

Good coverage of Latin America. Index coverage from 1954 forward, providing access to historical articles for the Modern period (1492-present).

Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents Database (LAPTOC)

A searchable Web database of the tables of contents of more than 800 journals from throughout Latin America and the Caribbean, most of which are not indexed elsewhere. Part of LARRP, the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project, administered by the Center for Research Libraries.

Retrospective Indexes

Index to Latin American Periodical Literature, 1929-1960. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1962. 8 vols. [Z1605 .I55 Main Stacks]

Index to Latin American Periodical Literature. Humanities and Social Sciences. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1961-
[Z1605 .I551 Main Stacks]

Coverage from 1960-1970.

CHRONOLOGIES

A Reference Guide to Latin American History. Edited by James D. Henderson, Helen Delpar, Maurice P. Brungardt. Armonk, N.Y.: M.E. Sharpe, 2000. [F1410 .R395 2000 Biography Alcove, Main Reference]

In 3 parts--part 1 is a detailed general chronology, part 2 is a topical chronology (thematic essays trace the development of topics across time, organized within broad categories, ie. "population expansion" in the section on "Society") and part 3 provides biographical profiles of 300 key figures. Includes more than 30 historical maps.

Cronologia de las intervenciones extranjeras en America Latina. Gregorio Selser. Mexico: UNAM, Centro de Investigaciones Interdisciplinarias, 1994- [F1415 .S43 1994 Main Stacks]

Two volumes, with coverage from 1776 to 1898.

BIOGRAPHICAL RESOURCES

Biographical Dictionary of Latin American and Caribbean Political Leaders. Edited by Robert Jackson Alexander. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988.
[F1414.2 .B48 1988 Biography Alcove, Main Reference]

Index to Spanish American Collective Biography. Sara de Mundo Lo. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1981-1985. 4 vols. [Z1609.B6 M86 Main Stacks]

Locates biographical information published in collective biographies since 1600. Includes the Caribbean.

RESEARCH GUIDES

Latin America and the Caribbean: A Critical Guide to Research Sources. Edited by Paula Covington and David Block. New York: Greenwood Press, 1992.
[F1408 .L3225 1992 Main Reference]

Excellent resource organized by social science and humanities disciplines. Critical essays are followed by disciplinary bibliographies, listed by country or area. Important archival and library collections are identified as well.

Latin America: A Guide to the Historical Literature. Charles C. Griffin. Austin: University of Texas Press, c1971. [Z1601 .G75 Main Stacks]

Despite its age, still considered a valuable resource. Sources listed by country, within a broad chronological arrangement.

Latin American Studies: A Basic Guide to Sources. Edited by Robert A. McNeil. 2nd ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1990.
[F1408 .L324 1990 Main Reference]

Organized by resource type, such as newspapers, subject bibliographies, and statistics. Also includes information on library and archival collections.

Research Guide to Central America and the Caribbean. Edited by Kenneth J. Grieb. Madison, Wis.: University of Wisconsin Press, 1985.
[F2161 .R47 1985 Main Stacks]

Research Tools for Latin American Historians: A Select Annotated Bibliography. David P. Werlich. New York: Garland, 1980.
[Z1601 .W47 Main Stacks]

Last update: April 16, 2007