Bleznick, Donald W. A Sourcebook for Hispanic Literature and Language: a Selected, Annotated Guide to Spanish, Spanish American, and United States Hispanic Bibliography, Literature, Linguistics, Journals, and Other Source Materials. 3rd ed. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1995.
[Z2695 .A2 B55 1995]
Woodbridge, Hensley C. Guide to Reference Works for the Study of the Spanish Language and Literature and Spanish American Literature. 2nd ed. New
York: Modern Language Association of America, 1997.
[PC4071 .W6 1997 Main Library Reference, 1 East]
Rela, Walter, comp. A Bibliographical Guide to Spanish American Literature: Twentieth Century Sources. Bibliographies and Indexes in World Literature, 13. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988.
[PQ7081 .R438 1988 Main Library Reference, 1 East]
Flores, Angel. Bibliografía de escritores hispanoamericanos, 1609-1974: A Bibliography of Spanish- American Bibliographies. New York: Gordian Press, 1975.
[Z1609 .L7 F55]
Includes 180 authors, lists authors' publications, including different editions; cites bibliographies of their works and some criticism.
Handbook of Latin American Studies. Gainesville: University of Florida Press, 1935- . Annual.
[Z 1601 .H23 Main Library Reference, 1 East]
HLAS Online (Freely available Web version)
The oldest area studies bibliography, the Handbook is produced by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. The print edition is issued annually, with volumes alternating between coverage in the social sciences and humanities. In an effort to offer more timely access to current research activity, the Internet version offers newer content at a “preliminary editorial stage,” meaning citations may be incomplete, and frequently lack annotation. The print format, though not as current, offers the advantages of browsing by discipline, and includes bibliographic and "state of the research" essays preceding each discipline chapter.
Zubatsky, David S. Latin American Literary Authors: An Annotated Guide to
Bibliographies. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1986.
[PQ7081 .Z8 1986 Main Library Reference, 1 East]
An excellent resource. Cites bibliographies in books, journals, dissertations, and Festschrift volumes.
There are a number of general handbooks, or surveys of Spanish American literature, such as:
Foster, David William, ed. Handbook of Latin American Literature. 2nd. ed. New York: Garland, 1992
[PQ7081 .A1 H36 1992]
Franco, Jean. An Introduction to Spanish-American Literature. 3rd. ed. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1994.
[PQ7081 .F64 1994]
Likely to be of greatest value however, are specialized works of literary criticism, be they of national literatures, of individual authors, or of classes of authors, for example, authors in exile. Monographic length works on individual authors can be found in the catalog by searching the author's name. Criticism of a national or regional literature, or of the works of certain classes of authors or certain literary forms are plentiful. Combinations of terms, searched as keywords and/or subject terms will give the best results. For example:
Framing the Word: Gender and Genre in Caribbean Women's Writing is found by searching the term "Caribbean literature" or "Women authors,
Caribbean"
Ethnicity and Identity in contemporary Afro-Venezuelan Literature: A Culturalist Approach is found by the terms "Venezuelan literature" and "Black authors"
Diccionario enciclopédico de las letras de América Latina. Caracas: Biblioteca Ayacucho y Monte Avila, 1995. 3 vols.
[PQ7081 .D515 1995 Main Library Reference, 1 East]
Signed articles by 500 contributors from over 30 countries. Includes authors who write in English, French, and Dutch, as Spanish and Portuguese.
González Echevarría, Roberto and Enrique Pupo-Walker, eds. The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1996. 3 vols.
[PQ7081 .A1 C35 1996 Main Library Reference, 1 East]
Gullón, Ricardo, et al. Diccionario de literatura española e hispanoamericana. Madrid: Alianza, 1993. 2 vols.
[PQ6006 .D6 1993 Main Library Reference, 1 East]
Solé, Carlos Alberto and María Isabel Abreu, eds. Latin
American Writers. New York: Scribner, 1989. 3 vols.
[PQ7081 .A1 L37 1989 Main Library Reference, 1 East]
Excellent resource includes critical essays on over 175 authors, with bibliographies of works, criticism, and biographies.
Tenenbaum, Barbara A., ed. Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. New York: C. Scribner’s Sons, c1996. 5 vols.
[F1406 .E53 1996 Main Library Reference, 1 East]
Flores, Angel. Spanish
American Authors: The Twentieth Century. New York: Wilson, 1992.
[PQ7081.3 .F57 1992 Main Library Biography Tools, 1 East]
Literature Resource Center. Gale Group.
A complete reference database, Literature Resource Center provides direct access to biographies, bibliographies, work overviews, and critical analysis of authors from all ages and literary disciplines. Built on three author databases, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography, this resource also includes selected full-text critical material from other Gale Group critical series, plus the complete Scribner Writer Series (biocritical essays) and the Twayne Authors Series. To learn more about Literature Resource Center, click here.
Mundo Lo, Sara de. Index to Spanish American Collective Biography. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1981-1985. 4 vols.
[Z1609 .B6 M86]
Ryan, Bryan, ed. Hispanic Writers: A Selection of Sketches from "Contemporary Authors." Detroit: Gale, 1991.
[folio PQ7081 .A1 H48 1991 Main Library Reference, 1 East]
Entries on 400 twentieth-century Hispanic writers. Includes biographical sketches, a bibliographies and excerpts of criticism.
There are many specialized sources for both individual authors and authors from particular Latin American areas or countries. For monographic length works on individual authors, try a subject search on the author's name.
For monographic length works on authors from particular nations or regions try the subject term:
Authors, Name of country
For example,"Authors, Mexican" leads to a wealth of sources.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodical Index, 1970- .vol. 1- , 1970-74- . Los Angeles: UCLA Latin American Center
Publications, University of California, 1977- . Annual.
[Z1605 .H5 Main Library Reference, 1 East]
HAPI
Online (Web version)
Source for articles in journals published in Latin America, mainly in Spanish America, but also indexes content of many major North American and European journals that treat all geographic areas of Latin America and the Caribbean. Library has print volumes through 1998.
MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Language and Literature. Vol. 1- , 1956- . New York: Modern Language Association, 1956- . Annual.
[Z1007 .M6]
MLA International Bibliography (Web version)
Best index for literature. Access to scholarly research in over 3000 journals and series. Web version is from 1963 forward. International in scope since 1956, but from 1921-1955 was limited to publications of the United States.