Statistical Resources

Indexes

Index to International Statistics (IIS) Congressional Information Service, 1983- . [HA 17 .I535 MSU Reference, 1 East]
Monthly, cumulated quarterly and annually.

Indexes the statistical publications of international intergovernmental organizations. Most of the materials indexed in IIS are available in the Government Documents Library in paper or microfiche.

Statistical Universe includes the electronic version of Index to International Statistics (IIS)

Instat: International Statistics Sources: Subject Guide to Sources of International Comparative Statistics. London: Routledge, 1995. 2 Vols.
[HA 155 .F55 1995 MSU Reference Desk, 1 Center]

Indexes statistical materials issued by commercial publishers as well as by international organizations.

Compilations in Print

Statistical Abstract of Latin America. Los Angeles: UCLA Latin American Center, 1955- .
[HA931 .S75 Latest edition at MSU Reference Desk, 1 Center]

Anuario estadistico de America Latina y el Caribe = Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean. Santiago, Chile: Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean, 1986- . [HA931 .U5 Latest edition at MSU Reference Desk, 1 Center]

Economic and Social Progress in Latin America. Washington, D.C.: Inter-American Development Bank, 1972- .
[HG3881 .I45 A3 Latest edition at MSU Reference Desk, 1 Center]

Mitchell, B. R. International Historical Statistics: the Americas, 1750-2000. 5th ed. New York: MacMillan, 2003.
[HA175 .M55 2003 MSU Reference Desk, 1 Center]

On the Web

Political Database of the Americas
Includes current and historical election results for the countries of the Americas.

Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)
Includes the economic and social indicators published in the Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean for the years 1997-2002, recent issues of the Demographic Bulletin, and other reports and surveys.

Observatorio Demografico: Migracion Internacional/Demographic Observatory: International Migration
The first issue (April 2006) of this ECLAC/CEPAL publication provides census data for foreign-born populations in most Latin American countries. Bilingual Spanish and English. Formerly published under the title of Demographic Bulletin, noted in the entry above.

Inter-American Development Bank
The bank's site includes IPES Online, the electronic version of Economic and Social Progress in Latin America. An annual, thematically-focused socio-economic analysis of the countries of the region, reports for 2001-2005 are available online. Current and back issues in print format are available in the library.

DataGob
Developed by the Inter-American Development Bank, this tool utilizes publicly available indicators related to governance. Users can easily produce cross-national comparative and time series graphs and tables for immediate printing or for export to standard office software.

USAID Economic and Social Database: Latin America
Development statistics. "The new Web presence of the publication Latin America and the Caribbean: Selected Economic and Social Data, also known as the LAC Databook."

Statistics Directory on LANIC
Links to the Web sites of national statistical bureaus and other producers, especially central banks.